Home Page


Key Points

  • The words 'solar system' refer to the Sun and all of the objects that travel around it.
  • Our solar system is made up of a star – the Sun – eight planets, 162 moons, dwarf planets and a bunch of comets, asteroids and other space rocks.
  • The eight planets that make up our solar system are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.
  • Our solar system is part of a galaxy known as the Milky Way.
  • The study of objects in the night sky (stars, galaxies and other things) is called astronomy.


About the Solar System

  • The Hubble telescope has been used to study the planets in our solar system. This has led to new information about Pluto.
  • All planets have different moons. Mercury and Venus have none, Earth has one and Mars has two.
  • The sun is a star not a planet.
  • solar eclipse occurs when the Earth passes through the Moon's shadow.
  • Find out about asteroids and comets.
  • Astronomy has been practised since ancient times before telescopes